“A thousand years from now…what damn difference will it make?” By Thea Camara

This is a quote from my great great Aunt Priscilla.  She was a woman of few words but when she spoke, what she said was likely to be thought provoking. 

It wasn’t until later in life that I came to an understanding about what this quote means to me.  She would often say this when things didn’t go as planned.  I guess it was her way of saying; when things don’t go your way…in time it won’t make a difference. 

We focus so much on the small things in life that we tend to miss what’s really important.  For instance, what would this world look like if we focused on helping one another instead of tearing each other down?  And how about doing that without looking for anything in return?  Wow what a concept! I somewhat disagree with my Aunt’s statement.  I believe that when we help each other be the best individuals God intended on us to be, that will make a difference.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I do believe what God has for me is for me, but I also believe that God wants me to be a blessing to others as well.  When I share what has been so freely given to me I know that it’s in Gods natural order.  

Some people have asked, “why did you give that information up?  Why did you do that for that person…they wouldn’t have done it for you?”  

Love is what really matters.  Who you love and who loved you will make a difference. Although I’m sure I won’t live a thousand years from now, I know that love, kindness, humility will always make a difference today andtomorrow. So, as long as I’m on this Earth, I will always seek ways to make a difference. I want my legacy to be that I loved, I shared, I inspired others and humility was my anchor.  This will make a difference…now and a thousand years from now.   

One thought on ““A thousand years from now…what damn difference will it make?” By Thea Camara

Leave a Reply

